Christmas = Done!

I've been soooo busy knitting that I haven't had time to blog!  But the projects are done, and I sent them off via UPS yesterday.  Yeah, that's late.  And because I wasn't willing to fork over $400+ to have them arrive by Christmas Eve, my family members will receive their gifts sometime around the 1st of the year.  Happy New Year, family!

To recap, I began my Christmas knitting in July, thinking that would allow me plenty of time to make everyone a nice cardigan or pullover.  I finished a cardi for my mother, one for my sister, and a hoodie for a nephew.  I had already given my youngest niece a cardi for her September birthday, so she got a scarf made from novelty yarn. Then all of a sudden I looked up and it was October.  Ack!!  Mad scramble in search of suitable patterns to make for the OTHER people on my list.  The pair of socks I was making for me quickly became the gift for a SIL.  And then I picked up the 2008 holiday issue of Interweave Knits.  Saved!  The ribby slippers were perfect for everyone else!

A multitude of slippers!

Well, everyone except my oldest nephew (not the "oldest" oldest, but the oldest who is still under age 18; in my family, nieces & nephews stop getting presents from aunts & uncles once they (a) turn 18 or (b) graduate from high school.  Anyway, he's much too "cool" to get slippers, especially if his dad is getting the same thing.  So, I improvised a skully cap for him.  The cap itself is the most basic cap imaginable: 1 1/2 inches of 2×2 ribbing, followed by several inches of plain stockinette, followed by rapid decreases on the crown, then tied off.  I nabbed the skull chart from a pattern in Son of Stitch & Bitch:

And voila!

Skully cap

Sigh.  Next year, everyone is getting socks.  Or a scarf.  Or maybe mittens.  Either that, or I start my Christmas knitting in January.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 thoughts on “Christmas = Done!

  1. There's a Fair Isle skull cap pattern and matching scarf in the Son of Stitch and Bitch book. If I'd had more time I might have tried that out for my nephew. Fair Isle colorwork is one of the things I intend to learn next year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

