Put down the needles, pick up the hooks

I’ve done so much knitting over the last few months that I don’t want to look at another knitting pattern for the foreseeable future.  (I say that now, but sooner or later the newest issue of Vogue Knitting or Interweave Knits will land in my mail box….)  To that end, and to finally use some of the Bernat Berella referred to in this post, I went through all my crochet mags and books and found this afghan:

It’s the “Cable Rerun” blanket from Crochet Today‘s Sept/Oct 2008 issue.  The version shown above was made by Ravelry member BetsyKnitsy from a Moda Dea variegated yarn.  I’ll be using the Berella in “Soft Taupe”.

I haven’t decided whether this blanket will stay home with me once finished or go live with someone else.

I’m also thinking about making this cardigan:

from Crochet Today‘s January/February 2009 issue.  However, the pattern calls for a DK weight yarn and I have far more worsted weight in my stash.  Finances are a teensy bit tight around here for the time being, so I’d rather use stash yarn than buy new (I can’t believe I just said that).  This means math.  A quick guess based on WPI and gauge suggests that following the 37″ pattern with worsted weight will result in the 44″ size, but I’ll make more precise calculations before beginning.

A great start to the New Year, yes?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

