I am not a shawl person. But I play one on TV.

Okay, I don't play one on TV.  I've been on television, yes, but that was a very long time ago and no one in the world remembers it but me.  And I wasn't wearing a shawl at the time.  I was wearing a 4-H uniform.

However, I made a shawl.  As a gift.  Because I'm not a shawl person, as you can plainly see from the pictures below:

Not a Seashore Shawl #1

Not a Seashore Shawl #4

The pattern:  Seashore Shawl by Drew Emborsky
The yarn:  Patons Brilliant in Beautiful Burgundy, three skeins (498 yds total)
Satisfaction with end product:  I think it's pretty.  My main concern is that its recipient likes it (mailed it off today).

This pattern is easy and quick to stitch.  I think it took me 4 or 5 evenings of watching TV, plus another day to pin it out and block it.  The finished piece is smaller than the pattern exemplar simply by virtue of the sportweight acrylic/nylon yarn I used versus the worsted weight silk/rayon/linen yarn used for the original.  I probably could have blocked it out wider and killed the yarn to maintain the blocking, but I liked the elasticity of the finished piece. 

As for my other projects, I finished all the squares for the baby blanket and all the strips for the afghan referenced in this entry.  The squares need blocking; the strips have all been blocked and are now my sitting-on-the-sofa-and-seaming-while-watching-television project.  I also picked up spouse's wayward Treads socks again, fixed their problem, and am proceeding apace toward the toe.

In magazine news, I'm still waiting for Crochet Today! to put up the preview for the May/June 2009 issue I received last week.  In the meantime, the Spring/Summer 2009 issue of Vogue Knitting landed in my mailbox a couple of days ago.  Give me another two or three days to go through it thoroughly and then I'll post a review.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

