Oh, look! A yarn-related entry!

Today I took inventory of the projects in various stages of completion. Oh boy. I had no idea my startitis had been this bad over the last several months….

The oldest project is a baby afghan. I started this thing over two years ago. All the squares are done, and have been done for more than a year; the only thing remaining is to sew them all together. Consider this an example of how badly I hate seaming.
Spare baby blanket 5
There are two women in my office expecting babies shortly after the turn of the year. This blanket needs to be sewn up soon, and another baby blanket made in the near future.

Next oldest is Delphine, from Kristeen Griffin Grimes’ French Girl Knits.
Delphine 2
I’m into the bodice section now. This could be completed in just a few more hours of knitting, if only I would sit down and work on it.

Next up are these fabulous Pagliacci mittens from Vogue Knitting‘s Fall 2008 issue.
Gift Mittens 2
The first time I saw these mittens, they screamed the name of a particular friend. I ordered the yarn last year and knitted them up in no time, then stalled on the embroidery. Again, a few more hours and they’ll be done. Maybe they’ll get sent off as this year’s Christmas present…

The Windowpane Coat came from Interweave Knit‘s Fall 2008 issue:
Windowpane 1
Remaining work to be done: Buttonhole band and seaming.

Not all projects are huge or have multiple pieces. I have a pair of socks on the needles as well, Belle Epoque from Melissa Morgan-Oakes’ 2 At A Time Socks.
Belle Epoque 1
I made my first pair of socks last year, using this method, and loved it. This is the third pair I’ve made in this fashion. I’ve yet to make socks one at a time, and don’t think I ever will. Anyway, the heel has been turned and the gusset finished. It’s onward to the toe now, eventually.

Sweet Nothing is a top down shrug explicitly for the purpose of warding off the air conditioning chill at the office.
Sweet Nothing 1
This is the knit that’s been going with me backstage to work on while waiting for my entrances during performances…mindless stockinette and easy peasy construction. I’ll probably get it finished by the time the run is over next weekend.

And finally, the Aon Vest from Berroco’s #296 Weekend pamphlet.
Moms vest 1
Mom wanted a vest to wear on a late autumn trip to California, so I hustled and nearly had it finished…more mindless stockinette which went with me to rehearsals, and a bulky yarn which made the knitting go quickly…but then Mom announced they weren’t going this year after all. So I put it down and picked up the shrug again. All that remains is part of one front piece and a ribbed edging, then seaming. I expect I’ll finish this one after the shrug.

Lots and lots of knitting recently. I feel another crochet project coming along in the near future… Crochet deserves equal time, and it is my first yarn love, after all.

3 thoughts on “Oh, look! A yarn-related entry!

  1. Pingback: Work in progress Wednesday « Avanta Knits

Leave a Reply

