The oldest WIP, finished at last

Sometime around the dawn of the millennium (okay, it was August of 2008), I began work on a baby blanket. I had no idea who I would give it to, but a spare baby blanket is a good thing to have around. You never know when someone will need one.

Cute little squares, with a heart in the center.

Spare baby blanket #2

I made and blocked three squares.

Spare Baby Blanket #4

And then the project stalled. And stalled. And stalled some more. Somewhere around April or May 2009, I finished the other nine squares.

Spare baby blanket 5

And then it sat again. For more than a year this time. Through a move across country, even. I kept looking at the squares in the UFO box and thinking, “I really need to sew these together,” but ignoring myself and grabbing new yarn for a new project.

Then two people in my office announced their pregnancies. Finally, I had impetus to finish the project! I sewed the rest of the squares together and added a simple shell border, and presented it to Rita at her office baby shower a couple of weeks ago.

Spare baby blanket 6
Pattern: Square #27 from Contest Favorites Afghan Squares, published by Leisure Arts.
Yarn: Lion Brand Babysoft in Candy Print; Lion Brand Babysoft in Pastel Green; Sirdar Snuggly 4-Ply in Lemon, less than one skein each.
Hook: 3.25 mm (D)
Size: Approximately 21″ by 27″, blocked

Link to Ravelry project page.

One thought on “The oldest WIP, finished at last

  1. Pingback: Blankets blankets blankets « Avanta Knits

Leave a Reply

