FO Friday

It’s still Friday in my time zone, although not by much…squeaking in for FO Friday with Tami’s Amis!

The following hat and cowl were actually finished a couple of weeks ago, while I was stuck at home for three days during the Southern Snowpocalypse. One thing about living in Dixie: it doesn’t snow often, but when it does, entire states come to a screeching halt. Anyway, I’ve been wearing them any time the temperature dips into the 30s or below. Toasty warm. The cowl has a tendency to fog my eyeglasses by bouncing my breath back on my face. I can live with that as long as my neck and ears are warm.

Cables & Pompom Hat, on my head:

And on the sideboard:

And the matching cowl:

I tried taking photos of myself wearing them as a set, but the lighting in the bathroom is lousy, and the pictures using the antique full length mirror came out all fuzzy…because it’s an antique mirror and the silvering is worn. Maybe I can corral spouse long enough tomorrow to shoot a modeling session.

My pattern for both, using two skeins of a fabulous bulky wool (Ester Bitran Hand-Dyes Mincha) I found at Tuesday Morning, of all places. The beanie is topped with a PomPom made of the remnants of the camel/wool blend yarn used for the Sweet Nothing Shrug (which is still a work in progress because it’s still sitting in the “to be blocked” box, along with two baby blankets). There’s about 1/2 to 2/3 of a skein left of the bulky wool. My attempts at making a set of matching mitts were unsuccessful. The yarn is a single and the DPNs in such a small circumference pull it apart. I’ll probably use the rest of it for felted pot holders or some such.

I finished the actual crocheting of that second baby blanket this evening. Weaving in the ends and blocking await. I hope to block both of these cuties in the next week and have them ready for next Friday. I’ve been putting it off because it involves massive pinning and then dragging out the steamer to kill the acrylic yarn — both blankies are crocheted lace and need such blocking to maintain the laciness and still be machine washable. Hmmm, I wonder if my new blocking wires will be suitable on these projects. I foresee an experiment coming.

2 thoughts on “FO Friday

Leave a Reply

