WIP Wednesday, and revealing the stash

My friend Amy wanted to know how much yarn I really have. So I dragged it out of the bins and arranged it on the floor for picture time. Ready?

Somehow it doesn’t seem like all that much when it’s all gathered into one place like that…But there’s a total of 293 separate skeins in various weights, brands, and colorways. I didn’t include all the partial skeins. Or the cotton thread. I have no idea how much cotton thread there is….it’s scattered all over the house. Guess I really need to get on those crochet lace tablecloths and bedcovers I promised my mother and sister.

In other news, WIP Wednesday features the still unassembled Moorish Mosaic Afghan.

All the pieces are done thanks to a marathon session over the weekend. Don’t think I’ll be doing that again anytime soon…at least not without giving myself a bona fide sleep break. Speaking of breaks, though, I’m taking a short one from yarncraft to read a book or two. Or maybe three. We’ll see.


Click the badge to see who’s working on what this week.

16 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday, and revealing the stash

    • I’m kind of nuts over the Elizabeth Lavold Silky Wool…I have two colorways, each with sufficient quantity to make a decent cardigan or pullover, and I can’t make up my mind about a pattern. And there’s some Rowan Pure Wool 4-ply that came as the Subscriber gift a year or so ago that’s begging me to find the right project. And, of course, the beloved yet discontinued Rowan Plaid…

      Like

  1. The afghan is gorgeous! Can’t wait to see it all put together. And that’s quite a collection of yarn you have – wow! I think all of mine would fill half of one of your bins. Guess I’ll have to go buy some more (thanks!) πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I would like to take a nap in your fluffy yarn stash.

    I can imagine that afghan would be insanity-inducing, but it will be *so* worth it in the end. As of now, it looks incredible.

    Like

    • If I’d left it on the floor much longer, all the animals would have been napping in it, that’s for sure. πŸ™‚

      Surprisingly, the crocheting itself on this blanket went relatively quickly and didn’t create much mental stress. The hard part now will be blocking all those motifs. It may be several weeks before I actually get everything blocked and sewn together.

      Like

Leave a Reply

