Windowpane Coat

I keep wanting to type that as “Windowpain Coat.”

Windowpane Coat 5
With collar open.

Windowpane Coat 3
With collar buttoned.

Windowpane Coat 4
The back view.

Windowpane Button 2
Closeup of button.

Pattern: Windowpane Coat by Deborah Newton, from Interweave Knits Fall 2008. Click here for my Ravelry project page.
Yarn: Rowan Soft Tweed in Sprig, 18 skeins (1588 yds/1432 m). Soft Tweed is a discontinued yarn, thus no linkage. Although you can’t really tell from the pictures, the color is a soft grey-green.
Needles: US 7 (4.5mm) for the ribbing, US 9 (5.5mm) for everything else. Addi Circs.
Satisfaction with finished project: Pretty happy! There are some problems with the coat, as noted on my project page. It’s a tad too big through the shoulders and armholes. My narrow frame will do that every time. (Yes, I’m “large” but I have a small frame, which makes finding clothes that fit me an adventure in perseverance.) The buttonholes aren’t centered in the buttonband, which I can’t believe I didn’t notice while I was knitting them. But these are relatively minor imperfections, and no one but me will even care. Overall, it fits, it feels good, and it will be ever so warm come winter. Woo hoo!

4 thoughts on “Windowpane Coat

  1. The coat looks great! The excess in the top portion in some ways will be useful. You can wear the coat over a thick sweater and still have room to move. And you’ll be able to move your arms without the whole coat riding up and needing to be tugged back down.

    As for the buttonholes–I don’t think that’s going to be obvious to anyone who isn’t standing dead straight in front of you.

    I’d about kill for some knitting time. I’ve had lots of freelance work. I also had a water heater leak that necessitated replacing the flooring in three rooms. That meant that the contents of those rooms (including six book cases) had to all get shoved into my living room. Now, nearly a week later, I’m finally starting to get things put back (sent out the latest freelancing job at 2:30 today).

    P.S. Thanks for the close-up of the yarn and button. I really, really like that yarn.

    Like

    • Thanks so much!

      I have 2 skeins left of the “Sprig” and 7 skeins left in another, similar, colorway: “Twig”. It’s more of a grey/brown, with emphasis on the grey. I’m putting them up for sale or trade on Ravelry, if you’re interested…

      Like

  2. Gorgeous! Love the buttons, and I think the collar looks great up, kinda like you knit a coat and got a bonus cowl out of the deal.

    Like

Leave a Reply

