FO Friday: Bellatrix socks

Ages and ages ago I cast on a pair of socks from Melissa Morgan-Oakes Two at a Time book. They sat around here in various stages of incompleteness for well over a year, but were finally finished last month.


Pattern: Belle Epoque by Melissa Morgan-Oakes
Yarn: Happy Feet by Plymouth in colorway 4, 2 balls
Needle size: 2
Size: Small
Satisfaction with end result: Quite pleased.

As you can see, they’re a trifle small for me and too snug around the calf. My sister is slimmer than I, so these beauties have gone into the gift box and will be either her birthday or Christmas present.

The picot hem gave me fits, and I finally abandoned the idea (and pattern instruction) of knitting in the hem as I went, so that was seamed after all the knitting was done. The yarn is luscious and cushiony on the feet; it’s a little splitty, but I think every yarn is splitty when you’re using size 2 needles. Despite that, I liked the way it felt in my hands and the way it knits up. I may have to get another couple of skeins and make something for me.

If you want to see what others have done for FO Friday, click the badge below. Happy knitting!

11 thoughts on “FO Friday: Bellatrix socks

Leave a Reply

