Posted in Crochet, Finished object

Baby love, oh, baby love…

No. I’m not having a baby. Bite your tongue. And perish the thought!

But I made a baby blanket because: (a) I like making baby blankets; and (b) my colleague’s wife had a little girl. Baby girl was three months early, and it was touch-and-go there for a while, but she’s doing much better now. Still in NICU, but apparently thriving.

Blanket Full of Prayer

Pattern: Mine, sort of. I took the stitch patterns from Interweave Crochet’s Fall 2011 pattern Lacy Canopy Cardi Wrap, then reoriented and repurposed them. The result? a blanket of delicate lace for a delicate infant. You can see more pictures on the Ravelry project page.
Yarn: Bernat Berella 4, Natural, 5 skeins (975 yards)
Hook size: I
Satisfaction with end result: I’m rather proud of this blanket, to tell the truth. I wasn’t exactly sure whether my “reorienting and repurposing” was actually going to work. In the end, the stitch counts for the border took a little finagling to make the pineapples come out equal on all sides, but said finagling is invisible in the end product.


Mild mannered government employee, fiendishly obsessed with yarn, books, and Doctor Who, much to her husband's chagrin.

Leave a Reply

