4KCBWDAY2 — A Mascot Project

2013 Blog Week Banner
Your task today is to either think of or research a project that embodies that house/animal. It could be a knitting or crochet pattern – either of the animal itself or something that makes you think of the qualities of that house. Alternatively it could be a type or colour of yarn, or a single button. Whatever you choose, decide upon a project and blog about how and why it relates to your house/creature.
~~~
House of Monkey. Hmm.House of Monkey

It’s tempting to go the obvious route and talk about sock monkeys. Except (a) I never had a sock monkey when I was a child; (b) I’ve never made a sock monkey for anyone; and (c) I don’t think sock monkeys are all that and a bag of chips, anyway.

BUT. If we go with the idea that monkeys enjoy a challenge, I have just the thing. It’s even sort of sock-monkey-ish in character.

A few days ago, my dear friend Alice emailed me a photograph, asking if I thought I could make the subjects of said photograph because she really really really wanted them. And she doesn’t knit. (I probably should offer to teach her, but truthfully I don’t think she’s interested.) I studied the photograph and replied in the affirmative, but I wasn’t going to promise I could match the variegated green yarn on one of the critters.

These are the critters in question, by the way:

The Avatars of They

See, Alice is The Number One Fan of They Might Be Giants, so naturally The Avatars of They belong in her possession. Well, not the actual Avatars, because they must stay with the band, but their doppelgangers, certainly, need to live with Alice and her family.

The Avatars present quite a challenge because I’ll be working without a formal pattern. A basic sock monkey pattern will suffice for guidance, I suppose, which means I must acquire one. The blue and brown yarns won’t be too difficult to match, or at least get close, in color. That green and orange, though…that will take some doing.

BTW, here’s a more complete pic of The Avatars:

Avatars recumbent.

Avatars recumbent.

I can’t decide if they were made with fingering weight or sport weight. The blue one (do they have names, I wonder?) certainly looks like it used sock yarn. The green one looks like it might be made of sport weight cotton. I think either weight will work. Much will depend on finding similar green and orange colorways, so that will be the determining factor in yarn weight.

And, naturally, I have nothing in stash that will suit either puppet. Oh, darn, I have to go yarn shopping. The horror of it all.

So, there you have it. Not only is the proposed project monkey-like in appearance, it is monkey-like in characteristic as well: challenging AND fun. And it involves buying yarn.

What could be more appropriate for a monkey like me?

To read other posts from those taking part in Knitting and Crochet Blog Week, simply perform a Google search for the tag 4KCBWDAY2, or click here.

One thought on “4KCBWDAY2 — A Mascot Project

  1. Pingback: The Avatars of They | Avanta Knits

Leave a Reply

