4KCBWDay3 — Infographic

2013 Blog Week Banner
Today’s topic: Make your own infographic (no fancy imaging software needed, you can draw it on paper and photograph it if you want) to convey any element of your craft(s).
~~~~
Being graphic-design challenged, this particular assignment has given me no end of trouble. I wanted to make some sort of graphed equation to indicate the sheer futility of trying to knit through my stash, something along the lines of “stash yardage divided by remainder of lifespan plus average rate of acquisition multiplied by patterns owned divided by available free time equals the 12th of never”, but when I realized I’d have to design and/or draw math-type symbols to represent this equation…? Yeah. Ran into a bit of a snag.

My limited Google-fu did not result in a suitable free online graphic design program. Looking a little closer to home, I discovered there’s only so much I can do with Microsoft Publisher and none of what I can do came anywhere close to realizing my vision. And Excel? Ha! Forget it. Not within my skill set.

So I gave up on the equation idea because, frankly, with a full time job, a husband, and four pets, I ain’t got time for that.

Here’s what I came up with, courtesy of Wordle. It has nothing to do with the aforementioned equation, but it still conveys the essence of my craft. And I like it. Click the pic to see it full size.

Wordle: SABLE

To read other posts from those taking part in Knitting and Crochet Blog Week, simply perform a Google search for the tag 4KCBWDAY3, or click here.

Leave a Reply

