4KCBWDay7 — Looking Forward

2013 Blog Week Banner

One year from now, when the 5th Knitting & Crochet Blog Week rolls around, where do you hope your crafting will have taken you to? What new skills, projects and experiences do you hope you might have conquered or tried?
~~~~
I’ve got a little list….

Okay, so it’s not a list of people that need doing away with, but the phrase gave me an excuse to toss in one of the best modern renditions of the Gilbert & Sullivan song I’ve heard in many a year. You may add “theatre nerd” to the list of nerd-doms to which I belong. And, while I’m not normally an admirer of musicals, I make one of my few exceptions for The Mikado.

None of which has anything to do with my list.

I fell head over heels in love with a film a few years ago, an art piece called The Fall, directed by Tarsem Singh and starring Lee Pace and a remarkable young girl named Catinca Untaru. Not only did I adore everything about this film, which I urge everyone to see immediately, I also coveted the cardigan the little girl wore throughout the film. You can get a pretty good look at it in this clip:

Designing and making an adult version of that cardigan has been on my list ever since. I found the lace and stitch patterns I needed a couple of years ago, and made swatches. Perhaps by next year, I will have succeeded in working out the basic structure and stitch counts.

The other major thing I hope to accomplish is finally getting my craft room organized in the manner I’ve envisioned, with a wall or two of cubbies for yarn and books, and a rolling fold-down table suitable for use as a blocking table, cutting table, or general multi-use crafting surface.

Skillwise, perhaps I’ll finally get up the nerve to make a small Fair Isle project, but one that doesn’t require steeking, like a hat or a scarf. Learning Tunisian crochet ranks high on the “skills to be acquired” list. And I’ve been thinking about taking on the Master Knitters Program from the Knitting Guild Association, but that will probably need to wait until spouse is employed.

Mainly, though, I plan to keep making things I like for myself and for others. I knit because I love to knit.

To read other posts from those taking part in Knitting and Crochet Blog Week, simply perform a Google search for the tag 4KCBWDAY7, or click here.

One thought on “4KCBWDay7 — Looking Forward

Leave a Reply

