Another FO, another post

Hmmph. Two blog entries on two consecutive days. Better check my temperature…

But first, you must admire my socks.

Dusk Socks 2

Pattern: Twilight by Melissa Morgan-Oakes (from Two At A Time Socks)
Yarn: Debbie Macomber‘s Blossom Street Collection Petals Sock in #609 Flowering Cabbage, 1 skein (462 yards)
Needles: Size 2 DPNs
Satisfaction with end product: I love these socks. I love the yarn, too, and will gladly use it again, but not on socks. Why? Well, the yarn is so soft and fluffy that I’m actually afraid the socks will pill like crazy if I wear them with shoes. Therefore, these will become keep-my-feet-warm-in-winter house socks. Which is not necessarily a bad thing.

The only bad thing about making these socks was the quality of the needles I used. Several years ago, before I learned about decent needles, I bought a boatload of inexpensive aluminum DPNs in multiple sizes. Sometime before finishing sock number one, the color coating wore off at the ends on the size 2s I used. So my next major needle purchase will be some quality DPNs. Lots of people tell me I should get DPNs made from bamboo or some other wood, but I actually prefer metal needles most of the time. I saw some nickel-plated DPNs in some catalog not too long ago, so maybe I’ll investigate those a little further. Research is always a good thing. Maybe I’ll borrow a set of wood DPNs from someone to try out for comparison’s sake. It’s not urgent, by any means. The cheapie aluminums are still serviceable, just a little annoying because they’re not quite as slick where the colored coating has worn off.

And here’s another picture of my gorgeous socks.

Dusk Socks 1

Yes, I made sure the stripes matched. Ya wanna make somethin’ of it?

2 thoughts on “Another FO, another post

  1. So pretty! And fluffy, comfy house socks are always a nice addition to the sock wardrobe, in my opinion.

    I’ve fallen totally in love with the Knitter’s Pride Karbonz carbon fiber dpn’s and I’m kinda thinking they will be my one-and-only sock needles forever now. I’ve had horrible luck with sock-size bamboo needles curving to the point I couldn’t knit with them and every brand of wooden sock-size dpn I’ve tried I’ve had at least one needle snap on me. Of course, I’m sure there are plenty of amazing metal options out there but my hands and shoulders just won’t tolerate metal. The Karbonz are amazing to work with, they don’t bend, they don’t snap, and they’re awful pretty to look at. Anyway. Those are all my thoughts on sock needles, in case you were dying to know.

    Like

Leave a Reply

