Sundays are for planning

I stayed up much later than usual last night — in fact, spouse went to bed before I did, which almost never happens — because around 10:30 PM, somewhat past my usual bedtime, I suddenly had the urge to wind skeins of sock yarn into cakes. This furlough (now on Day 6) is playing hell with my usual habits.

Anyway, I dragged half a dozen skeins or so out of their bin and set to, skein by skein, carefully clipping the binding yarn, gently untwisting the skein and laying it over the swift, handwrapping the first few rounds on the ball winder, and then rotating the handle just fast enough to wind the skein and not cause the swift to go into overdrive.

That fit of madness lasted two skeins’ worth of winding before I came to my senses and went to bed. It was having to finish winding the second skein by hand that did it.

Thus, this morning, I had two lovely cakes of yarn which needed to be assigned to a project. A couple of Ravelry searches later, mission accomplished.

Starry NightThe skein of Dragonfly Fibers Pixie in colorway “Starry Night” shown above will become the Oaklet Shawl (Ravelry link, possibly not visible if you’re not a member).

And the Donegal Sock from Handpainted Knitting Yarns in colorway “Orfeo” below will become Herringbone Rib Socks (another Ravelry link, same disclaimer). It is Socktober, after all. I should knit at least one pair, yes?Donegal sock

I cast on for the shawl this morning with the intended goal of finishing it by the end of next week. I may take a break, though, and cast on the socks, as well, then alternate between the two. Either way, I hope to get both of them done by the end of the month. Unless, of course, I go back to work in the next few days. In which case, I’ll hope to get them done by Thanksgiving.

6 thoughts on “Sundays are for planning

  1. Pingback: WIP Wednesday: Paint your palette blue and gray | Avanta Knits

  2. Pingback: WIP Wednesday: Back to the Grind Edition | Avanta Knits

Leave a Reply

