WIP Wednesday: The Thankful Edition

Spouse in his alter ego as the Rock God

Spouse in his alter ego as the Rock God

Since the beginning of November, a number of friends on Facebook have been making daily public statements of things for which they are grateful. This is a lovely practice, often seen this time of year, and something in which I usually participate. For whatever reason, this year I didn’t manage to make any daily pronouncements of gratitude. That doesn’t mean I don’t have anything deserving of gratitude, mind you. Thus, the gratitude blog entry!

I am grateful for my husband, that long-suffering handsome hunk of man who puts up with each quirk and obsession I inflict upon him, who does the majority of the cooking and the cleaning up in

This was taken in 2006 on their 45th wedding anniversary.  They haven't changed much.

This was taken in 2006 on their 45th wedding anniversary. They haven’t changed much.

the kitchen afterward, who also handles cleaning the dogs’ messy butts and the cats’ messy urps when needed
(because I’m incapable of doing either without urps of my own), who tolerates the never-ending fur and books and yarn and dust, who simply rolls his eyes at the constant rotation of science fiction TV series on the Blu-Ray player and Netflix, and who loves me in spite of myself.

I’m grateful for my parents for pretty much all the same reasons I’m grateful for my husband, except my sister and I clean their kitchen when we’re at their house because they deserve to sit down with a cup of coffee and a little rest after all these years.

My brother and his family

My brother and his family

My sister and two of her "boys"

My sister and two of her “boys”

I’m grateful for my siblings, as well. They’re both smart and funny and quirky in their own ways, although both of them will tell you I’m the weirdo of the bunch, and then shake their heads in resignation at the sheer nerdiness of their oldest sibling. Doesn’t matter, though, because we’re family. And we love each other.

Long live the Queen!

Long live the Queen!

I’m grateful for the four fuzzballs who have graciously condescended to share their lives with us. They’ve provided much joy and laughter over the years, and I live in hope they will continue to do so for many years to come. I’m especially thankful the Grande Dame of them all, Lady Jacquenetta, is still with us. She’s nearly 20 now, old enough that I’m starting to wonder how much more time we’ll have with her.

Wanderer Scarf in progress

Wanderer Scarf in progress

I’m grateful for the manual dexterity and the “just enough to be dangerous” computer and HTML knowledge that permits me to type entries like this, and permits me to create items using two sticks and some string, or a hook and some string, whatever the project may require. One such item is the Wanderer scarf I mentioned a couple of weeks ago. I just added the third (or was it the fourth?) ball of Rowan Soft Tweed on Monday evening, and think this may be the last ball of yarn I’ll need for it. It’s hard to tell in this photo, but the texture of the alternating cables and seed stitch sections is marvelous, both to see and to feel.

The amazing color pooling change

The amazing color pooling change

The other project currently (still) on the needles are spouse’s socks. I think I’ll take those with us when we go to Alabama tomorrow for Thanksgiving dinner with the fam. Notice the change in the pooling in that photo! Per pattern instructions, I went down one needle size — from a size 1-1/2 US to a size 1 US — when halfway down the cuff, and am amazed at what a difference such a small change made in the yarn’s look.

ab2a5-tami_wipI bet you were wondering how I was going to work WIP yarn stuff into a gratitude blog post. And how all that gratitude relates to a WIP Wednesday post in the first place. Well, I believe we are all works in progress, and maintaining gratitude is one of the ways we grow as human beings.

This post is part of Tami’s Amis WIP Wednesday blog roll. Click that badge over there to view other WIP Wednesday blog entries, about yarn, people, and all manner of things in progress. And Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

2 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: The Thankful Edition

  1. I love how the colors are pooling/swirling on those socks!

    And what a beautiful kitty! Until I clicked on the image and saw that it was just her markings, I totally thought she was making an “ooooooooh, you did NOT just say that!” face.

    Like

Leave a Reply

