WIP Wednesday: Baby, It’s Cold Outside!

This was the view from my front stoop at 7:30 this morning:
Ice Storm 1

And here’s the same view at 2:30 this afternoon:
Ice Storm 2

Yes, once more we can safely say…
Georgia Is Closed

Before all you Northerners laugh yourselves silly, you have to understand we just don’t DO snow in the South, y’all! Ice, neither, in this particular instance. Yes, that’s ice. We’ve had a steady downpour of ice rain, or sleet, or very tiny hailstones, or whatever the HELL you want to call it, since about 2:00 AM, and it’s likely to last at least through tomorrow. We’re lucky here in the avantaknits household in that we haven’t lost power; our refrigerator and cupboards are well stocked; cable, internet, and Netflix are up and running; and I have plenty of yarn and books to keep me occupied.

Buds and Blooms 21Speaking of yarn, remember the cardigan I finished a couple of weeks ago? I reblocked it and took a couple of new pictures. Yes, this is a WIP post, but I’m sharing the finished cardigan again anyway. Deal with it.

Buds and Blooms 20And as soon as that precious knit was finished to my satisfaction, I started on my next project, the Wildflower Cardigan by Alana Dakos. (Click the link to be taken to the pattern website.) I’m using Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool in a caramel color. After the decorative edging at the bottom, it’s endless endless endless stockinette, which makes for easy television knitting. But it’s also endless endless endless stockinette, which makes me insane for some variety after a while, which is why I’ve only progressed about three and a half inches up the back.

Wildflower Cardigan 1

Wildflower Cardigan 2Here’s a closer look at the detail of the decorative edging. Pretty cool construction technique involving lots of passed-over stitches — a little fiddly, maybe, but it turns out great. As always, click the pics to see them full-size.

Because the endless endless endless stockinette eventually makes me crazy, over the weekend I started another giant granny square baby blanket with an autumn-toned color scheme. It’s intended for the first grandbaby of one of my colleagues.

Penny's Granny 1

Spouse's socks 1And of course, spouse’s socks. Which haven’t been touched since the last time I posted about them in November. *hangs head in shame*

ab2a5-tami_wipThis post is part of the WIP Wednesday Round-up hosted by Tami’s Amis. Click the badge over there and see what other folks have been up to recently!

2 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Baby, It’s Cold Outside!

  1. Pingback: Stitches South 2014 | Avanta Knits

Leave a Reply

