Wrapping up the High Summer Read-a-thon

High SummerI finished five books. Five! Okay, I started one of them before the High Summer Read-A-Thon got started, but I’m counting it anyway.

First finished was Angle of Repose by Wallace Stegner. Borrowed from the library, and returned already. I thought it was amazing, but no review yet.

Then came Night Film by Marisha Pessl. I loved this. I have yet to write a review because I’m still thinking about it, but I loved it.

Next was Imago by Octavia Butler. As disturbing as the preceding books in the Xenogenesis series. I haven’t written reviews for any of this trilogy, either.

The Widow File by S.G. Redling was a fun and quick-paced genre thriller. Click the title to get to the review.

And finally, The New Madrid Run by Michael Reisig, a train wreck of a post-apocalypse thriller that kept me reading in large part because the premise was amazing, but I couldn’t believe how awful its execution. Click the title for my review.

The New Madrid RunThe Widow File

ImagoNight FilmAngle of Repose

I find it curious that I was able to whip out reviews for the books that impressed me the least, but am at somewhat of a loss to write about the books that actually made me think. Oh well. If you want to read more wrap-ups of this read-a-thon, click the High Summer Read-A-Thon badge at the top of this post.

Save

2 thoughts on “Wrapping up the High Summer Read-a-thon

Leave a Reply

