RIP IX and FrightFall Check-In

FrightFall 2014I’ve been so busy reading that I haven’t taken any time to blog about the reading! While I suppose this is not necessarily the worst sin a blogger can commit, it certainly doesn’t aid one’s credibility in the book-blogger category, especially after committing to a couple of simultaneous reading challenges. But we’ll set aside the breast-beating and mea culpas for the nonce, and get on with the writing about the reading of the books.

FrightFall has one more day in which to read another spooky story (or mystery, or thriller, as the case may be). I think the two I’ve read in the past week will be all she wrote for this challenge, though. Laundry and cleaning the house (or at the very least, cleaning the shower) have to take priority over reading time for the rest of this weekend, especially since I spent a good portion of today ditzing about on the internet and having lunch with my sister. So, um, the two that I read that meet Frightfall’s requirements were
The Dark Tower II: The Drawing of the Three by Stephen King; and The Barkeep by William Lashner. Click the covers shown below to go to the reviews.

The BarkeepThe Dark Tower II:  The Drawing of the Three

RIP IX continues through Halloween, so there’s lots of time left to go on this challenge. The two books read for FrightFall also count for RIP IX; several others were read ahead of them. RIP 9 PortraitI committed to Peril the First, which means I would read at least four books out of one of these categories: Mystery, Suspense, Thriller, Dark Fantasy, Gothic, Horror, or Supernatural. Going back to the date this challenge began (September 1), I have finished ten, so I’m well ahead of my goal. My actual goal for RIP IX, though, is to re-read Volumes 1-6 in Stephen King’s Dark Tower series and then finally read Volume 7, which has sat on my shelf for several years, glaring at me with baleful eyes. First two volumes down. Five to go.

Watch for upcoming blog posts specifically about the RIP IX books as well as the other RIP challenge I took on, Peril on the Screen.

2 thoughts on “RIP IX and FrightFall Check-In

  1. Guess what! You were not too late for prizes. I didn’t have time to draw the winners until now so I left it open. So I’ll be including you in the drawing. 🙂

    Thanks for joining me for another read-a-thon. What did you think of The Drawing of the Three? I’m still in the middle of Book III. Have been for some time now. lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

