Work In Progress Wednesday: Blocking It Out

Mondial SurfAfter experiencing cross-stitch burnout, I set aside the Tunisian Terror for a while to work on a shawl.  I had two skeins of this discontinued 100% cotton variegated “sport” weight that had been given to me a few years ago, and it had been whispering in my ear recently.  (I say “sport” in quotation marks because that’s the weight Ravelry gives for this yarn.  Personally, I think it’s fingering, and that’s the weight I filtered for when looking for a pattern.)

The pattern I settled on was the Gingko Crescent Shawl by Jade Keaney because I loved the lace edging.  The path for this shawl was rocky.  I knit it to completion, hated the result but still loved the lace edging, so I ripped it all out and rewrote the pattern, then knitted it again.  When I write up the finished object post, I’ll give you all the gory details.  For now, here’s a photo of it blocking.

Gingko Crescent 5I’ve taken the week off work and, by the time this post appears publicly, I will be on my way to Hilton Head Island.  A friend and I are leaving our respective spouses behind for a few days and running away to the beach!  We’re taking the convertible, our knitting (of course), our cameras, our bathing suits, and very little else.  According to The Weather Channel, thunderstorms are expected during the few days we’ll be there, so that should be entertaining.  Maybe I can capture some dramatic “lightning over the Atlantic” photos.  Or maybe we’ll just sit on the balcony of the hotel room and revel in the windswept ocean vista.  Regardless, it’s going to be a fun time, no matter the weather.

Stitch Along WednesdayThis post is part of Stitch Along Wednesdays hosted by Gracey’s Goodies.  Click that badge over there to visit Gracey’s blog and see who else is participating.  This is also part of the WIP Wednesday link roundup hosted by Shadow’s Knit KnacksClick here to check out other linked blogs and add your own!

4 thoughts on “Work In Progress Wednesday: Blocking It Out

Leave a Reply

