WIP Wednesday: Apparently I have become a shawl person

Tardis shawl 6A couple of years ago, I made my first shawl (Bigger on the Inside) (pictured at left) because it was Whovian and thus irresistible.  But I insisted that I was not a shawl person.  I didn’t wear shawls, except on the rare occasions spouse and I attended an event that involved wearing a Little Black Dress (or a red one, in my case).  And then I discovered I quite liked those little lace crescent-shaped scarf-like shawls and the small triangular shawlettes: they were perfect for covering my head and warming my neck in winter while waiting for the MARTA train.

Flash forward to the present, take a look at my recent WIP and FO posts, and what do you find?  Shawls.  And shawls.  And more shawls.  It’s official.  I am now a shawl person.

Le Weekend 1So it’s fitting that today’s WIP is another shawl.  I’ve been trying to find the right pattern for this purple variegated yarn for quite some time.  Le Weekend (a free Ravelry pattern) must be the third or fourth pattern I’ve tried, and so far I’m very pleased with how it looks.

I’m still seaming the Tunisian Terror.  You won’t see any more pics of that beast until it’s finished.  I also started and finished another scarf over the long weekend, and that will be the subject of a Freshly Finished Friday post later this week.

Stitch Along WednesdayThis post is part of the Stitch-Along Wednesday link-up hosted by Gracey’s Goodies.  Click that badge over there to see who else is busy stitching away.  Also check out Shadow’s Knit Knacks for more WIP Wednesday goodness.

5 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Apparently I have become a shawl person

  1. I knit 198 yds of Heaven twice, as gifts, and liked watching the pattern develop but I didn’t really feel the urge to knit a bunch more. But I just finished my first big lace shawl with sock yarn and I think I know what you’re talking about. I’m already dreaming of more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

