FO Friday: Introducing the Ribby Striped Cowl

I wanted to make a cowl with a very specific yarn, one bought expressly for the purpose of making a cowl.  An extensive (although not exhaustive) survey of my library patterns and the free patterns available through Ravelry resulted in no matches for the cowl I had in mind in the yarn I wanted to use.

That’s it above:  Lana Grossa Linea Pura CashSilk, a smooth cushiony bulkyweight nylon/bamboo/cashmere/silk blend.  So what does a knitter do when she can’t find the pattern she wants?  She creates her own!

I wanted the cowl to be simply constructed with some texture, but not too much texture because the tubular construction and bulky weight of the yarn meant the stitches would be textural all on their own.  Plain and simple was best: ribbing and stripes.

Ribby Striped Cowl 1

Pattern:  Ribby Striped Cowl by yours truly (click here for the Ravelry project page)

Yarn:  Lana Grossa Linea Pura Cashsilk, 1 skein each Navy, Cream, Rust; 82 yards (75 meters) per skein

Needles: US 11, 36-inch circular

Size:  Approximately 38 inches in circumference, and 7 1/2 inches tall.

Satisfaction with end product: I’m pleased as punch with the way it turned out.  It’s cushiony and soft and lightweight, gentle and smooth against the skin.  The cowl is long and stretchy Ribby Striped Cowl 3enough to wrap twice around one’s head and neck if necessary, and it drapes well enough to wear as a decorative scarf as well as a neck-warmer.

I’ll get the pattern written up soon and make a decision on pricing.  I also have to figure out how to make a .pdf document available through WordPress or some other feature.  Note to self: check out Ravelry’s options for pattern delivery.

Ribby Striped Cowl 2In the meantime, here’s one more photo for your viewing pleasure.

All of the usual FO Friday link-ups seem to have fallen by the wayside, so we’ll start one here. Add your blog’s link below, and be sure to link back to this post so others can join in. If you want to be really cool, go check out a few linked blogs and add a comment or two. Crafty folk love feedback!

FO Fridays with Avantaknits Participants 

1. Emily

Powered by… Mister Linky’s Magical Widgets.

And you can use the badge below to create your link back here.

FO Friday Avantaknits Badge (2)

ETA:  Saturday morning I found another FO Friday to link with, so take a gander over there as well.  I look forward to seeing all your FOs linked up here and there!

(By the way, spouse was released from the hospital late Thursday afternoon, and so far seems to be doing very well.  Thank you, everyone who contacted me with words of support.  You are appreciated.)

5 thoughts on “FO Friday: Introducing the Ribby Striped Cowl

  1. Lovely Cowl…I whipped a crochet one up the other night…just simple double crochet because I decided I needed it for the next day…bulky yarn is the best! So glad you found us! We’ve been doing the link up for over a year or so now…someone else was doing Friday and I was doing Wednesday (still am, so if you want to join on Wednesdays too)….but she decided not to do a Friday one every week…that’s when I came up with Wrap Up Friday…since not everyone has a finished project to show on Fridays….but yes, many of the link parties are falling away….I will link up to you when I have a finished project….I also occasionally do a Saturday one (you should read my first one of the year to understand my stash) and I also participate in the Knit Your Library and Year of Projects on Sunday…

    Like

  2. Pingback: 2016 in Review: Yarn – Avanta Knits

Leave a Reply

