Book review: Son by Lois Lowry

Son (The Giver, #4)Son by Lois Lowry

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

So, here’s the truth. I read this book only because I have a compulsion to finish a series once I start it. It’s true I have bailed out of some series (Laurell K. Hamilton‘s Anita Blake series, for one), but generally speaking, I am a completist. And these books were short enough that they wouldn’t waste too much of my time.

Son takes us back to the community that first appeared in The Giver and retells parts of that story from another perspective. Additionally, we discover more of the inner workings of that “utopian” village (view spoiler).

I have the same criticism of Son that I have of all the other novels in this series: gaping plot holes, two-dimensional characters, and in this one particularly, a rather stereotypical “bad guy” that must be vanquished. In some ways, though, this installment is the strongest of the four. Claire’s search for truth and for her son leads her into danger, but she doesn’t flinch. She carries on and makes her choices and accepts the consequences as they come. As a wrap-up to the series, Son satisfies.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

