On writing slumps and unintentional hiatuses

Blog Entry MemeHere’s a truth:  I really like the idea of structured blog posts — Finished Object Fridays, Work In Progress Wednesdays, and so forth — but that sort of restriction just doesn’t fit easily into my schedule. Working full time puts a cramp in my blogging style, don’tcha know; after a long day dealing with trainees, colleagues, and general government bureaucracy, I’m utterly exhausted by the time I get home from the office. It’s all I can do to change out of my business attire and collapse on the sofa with the remote and a bowl of popcorn.  Feed the dogs?  Oh, sheesh, do I have to?  All right, all right, stop yapping at me.  I’ll take care of you.

So what happens? When I have something to say, I have to find the time to say it on the weekends. On a writing day, I will often compose several blog entries over the course of several hours and schedule them to appear at various times throughout the next week or so. This is especially true for book reviews.

Sometimes, though, even that much discipline is beyond me, and nothing appears for weeks, sometimes months, at a time. Such is how it’s been ever since we had Mote put to sleep at the end of July.  On top of the grief, I’ve had at least three doctors’ appointments every month since June in an effort to alleviate a chronic, non-life-threatening-but-it’s-bothering-the-hell-out-of-me problem.  (Solution — surgery will be scheduled in the near future.)  I’m finally pulling myself out of the grief and ennui and general all-around tiredness enough to think about writing regularly again. With two finished projects to show off, one work in progress, a crap-ton of book reviews to write, plus the newest Rowan and Vogue Knitting magazines to discuss, there’s certainly plenty to write about. (Yes, faithful reader, I know: returning to reviewing knit magazines was a stated goal from 2014.  *sigh*  This slump has been both long-standing AND intermittent.)

No one out there is awaiting my next blog entry with bated breath, but that’s not the point.  This blog is a creative outlet that provides an opportunity to show off pretty things I made and occasionally pontificate on life, books, and the state of the world.  (I’m thrilled that a few folks  think it’s worth their time follow these shenanigans.  Thank you.  You all rock.)

All that to say, I’ve missed this.  And I’m going to do better.  As it happens, this long holiday weekend is a good time to set fingers to keyboard and get that writing mojo flowing.

Let the revels begin.

4 thoughts on “On writing slumps and unintentional hiatuses

  1. This is why I love feed readers. I myself weave in and out of blogging regularly, so I like having a way to make sure I don’t lose track of anyone else who might take a month or two off here and there.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Speaking of reading challenges… | Avanta Knits

Leave a Reply

