Book review: Bright’s Passage by Josh Ritter

Bright's PassageBright’s Passage by Josh Ritter

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Henry Bright was one of the lucky ones. He came home from The Great War. But he wasn’t entirely unscathed. He has, um, issues. When his wife dies in childbirth, he sets fire to their home and takes off across the countryside with his newborn son, fleeing his wife’s vengeful family and the wildfire he inadvertently caused.

This is one of those library books I must have put on my list because the cover blurb sounded so good. Kudos to the blurb writer, because that blurb was the best thing about this book.

No. The best thing about this book is it’s short.

Okay, it wasn’t really THAT bad. I gave it three stars, after all; it was readable and even enjoyable in a few spots. But I feel like there was a much better book lurking in there somewhere — a book that deeply explored Henry Bright’s trauma and coping mechanisms rather than presenting them in a whimsical fashion. Not that I didn’t appreciate the talking horse, or the goat, or the tree…I don’t know.

I finished this book in just a few hours. I don’t necessarily want the time back. I just wish the time spent had been more satisfying.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

