Posted in Book review, Books, Reading

Book review: Invisible Cities by Italo Calvino

I just realized I forgot to post the review of the February 12-in-2023 book.

Invisible Cities by Italo Calvino

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Marco Polo, in Scheherezade fashion, tells Genghis Khan stories about the cities he has visited, each more fabulous than the last. And I mean fabulous in the sense that they don’t exist other than in Marco Polo’s imagination.

Very short book, less than 200 pages. Very short chapters, some less than a full page. Still took me nearly a week to read because I couldn’t settle in.

Three stars because the language is beautiful. Otherwise, I don’t know what the point was. Obviously, I have failed at post-modern literature. I do appreciate the friend who recommended this to me, regardless.

Read as part of the 12-in-2023 Challenge, in which I read 12 books other people selected for me. February’s book was selected by Celina.

View all my reviews

Author:

Mild-mannered government retiree, now a full-time actor, fiendishly obsessed with yarn, books, and Doctor Who, much to her husband's chagrin.

Leave a comment